Disabling vs Deleting Fields
If you decide you no longer need a field, you can delete it or disable it. By disabling a field, it will not display on the book page or when you edit a book. However the data will be preserved so if you change your mind, you can uncheck disabled and the field will return as if it had never left.
If you delete a field, you will not be able to retrieve the data in the future.